Forum Member

Cool blind in one eye

Hello everyone, My name is chris and im currently a firefighter in middlesex county nj for about 8 yrs now im am trying to go paid to have the all american dream of becoming a career firefighter now im blind in my left eye "0" visibility and im looking to become a federal firefighter im looking for some advice on it I should even bother ontrying or now according to the physical I would have to pass now my question is, is the physical that I had to take the same as there's? The 20/20 part I have been bind from birth and don't even separate. Me from the average joe I can drive trucks cars anything that moves not a problem I wanna hear what some of you guys think about my issue maybe give me some helpful answers thanks also is the physical a nfpa physical?

Forum Member

First trying to go federal will be a problem unless you can find a trainee position or enlist in the service with firefighter slot

Second

Do a search there have been some other questions on sight

Forum Member

From a former Federal FF for 10 years- I don't think you would be able to pass the vision screening part of the physical, however stranger things have happened. There is a Captain at Aberdeen Proving Ground who had a leg removed below the knee due to diabetes, but returned to full duty with a prosthetic. I wish I could give you the name and number of someone to call to check into the vision thing, but I don't know anyone who could answer the question. You should pose the question in the forums at www.dodfire.com