Forum Member

Default Triangle of Life claim

Hi Folks,
    First and foremost, thanks to the firefighters and related first responders for your daily attention to helping others before yourselves. I was a firefighter in the Navy and I appreciate, very much, what you do each day.

Now, on to my question...

I am in charge of emergency preparedness/disaster recovery where I work and an employee asked me about this "triangle of life" story.

The story basically goes this way - when buildings collapse in an earthquake, there are these triangular spaces where a person could survive the collapse if they get into those areas.

This is the WIKI page about it. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triangle_of_Life
    What I'd like to know is if any of you have been in some of the larger earthquakes and made a similar observation. I get it from a geometric standpoint, but I want to be able to explain ot to the employees here since they are quite in tune with earthquakes right now - we had a 3.4 "bump and a roll" just yesterday and this topic is circulating.

Ultimately, I want my employees worrying about basic cover and not scrambling about for the mystical triangle for safety.

Any input or observations would be greatly appreciated.

Respectfully submitted,
    Jim Marchetti

Forum Member

MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

The theory would seem to have some value. However, before you go quoting it as gospel, you need to do a little research on Doug Copp (proponent of the "Triangle of Life" concept). He is controversial, to say the least. He is a self promoter and claims to have been at every major disaster and building collapse anywhere in the known world for the last 20 years, some of which claims have been discredited. He is also trying to sell a questionable device called the "Copp Casualty Locator" or some such thing that he claims can locate victims in collapses.