Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Talking UK transplant seeks allied fields, f.p., industrial, consultant career advice, IFE?

Hi.
    I was a UK firefighter from 1990 to 2000. since then I've been living in Florida. Now after being 'Mr Mom' for 10 years I need to find some work. My wife doesn't want me to go back to active firefighting. So I need to find something in an allied field. I've looked at Fire Inspector and Fire investigator, but I really need to do something before I can afford to take exams etc. I'm interested in the concept of consultancy but not sure how to go about it.

I was the equivalent of a Lieutenant in the UK for 4 years and passed all the promotion exams possible. I also have Institution of Fire Engineers Graduateship qualification and two papers of the Membership qualification though I'm not sure what standing the IFE has over here. Though my qualifications probably count for nothing hopefully experience might.

Any ideas/help would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks
    PH

Forum Member

For inspections suggest check third party companies

http://www.us.bureauveritas.com/wps/...bv_usNew/Local

http://www.rjainc.com/

http://www.5starrebels.com/fmg/careers.htm

Also call the fire sprinkler and fire alarm companies sometimes they need people just to do inspections
    Last edited by fire49; 04-22-2011 at 02:40 PM.

Forum Member

Ok, many thanks. That was very helpful.
    Don't the sprinkler/alarm companies require people to be qualified in order to work for them though?

Forum Member

Have to contac them
    Not always

Ojt !!!

Quote Originally Posted by fireinthesky64 View Post
    Ok, many thanks. That was very helpful.
    Don't the sprinkler/alarm companies require people to be qualified in order to work for them though?
    Depends on what kind of work you want to do....