Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default how do i handle this chief??

For years (like 20) , I have (on the side) taught health and safety classes, including cpr, first aide, car seat inspections, blood pathogens, and more. Never have I mentioned or used it at the fire house. In fact most don't know I have my business, as I mainly teach to corp offices and various civic groups. I am a paramedic. When I teach, I don't do it in uniform, nor mention I work with the fd

Now, the chief found out were I work part time (i have been here for 4 years). He is not a paramedic or emt, doesn't even have a current cpr card....

suddenly, he is showing up at 2 cpr classes i taught "to observe". Now, he tells me all future classes and events I appear at have to be prior approved by him, as I am putting him at a liability risk.

The department has not paid for any of my training and it has nothing to do with them. I tried to tell him this, and he told me turn it in in advance, or lose my job.

Any suggestions??

FYI, this is in a small good ole boy town, where the fire board members are all his relatives or good friends.......

Tell him to pound salt.

Are you career?
    I am now a past chief and the views, opinions, and comments are mine and mine alone. I do not speak for any department or in any official capacity. Although, they would be smart to listen to me.

"The last thing I want to do is hurt you. But it's still on the list."

"When tempted to fight fire with fire, remember that the Fire Department usually uses water."

Quote Originally Posted by firefighter 432 View Post