Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default What should I do

Hey all I got something that stumps me its a part of my personal life and I thought I would come to brothers to try and get the answer. I am a volunteer with a small department and I hope to become a career FF as soon as possible well today I found a department that is quite a distance away from where I live but I qualify I got caught up in the moment and applied now its hours later and my mind is going crazy. The deal is right now I am 19 Years old married and have a son but do to school and being a volunteer firefighter I have been unemployed for a while so I have no car or money to move if I did manage to get the job It would but a struggle on my marriage and my wife and child would always be stuck in our house/apartment until we managed to get money for a car and I couldn't do that, but at the same time I would be kicking my self for not testing or if offered turning down a job like that. Any advice would be awesome. I know its more of a personal problem but I got stuck.

Are you interested in anything else? I'd take the job. You need money, and this would be a good way to start earning cash now. You could try to look for something a little closer to home just to get yourself off your feet and then go back and reapply to the FD. I'd take the job now though if I were you.
    Good luck!

Forum Member

That is probably the longest run-on sentence I've ever seen.

Notwithstanding that, take the job. By your own admission, you're unemployed now - take the job with the department, move your wife and kid to an apartment and start building your career. No good will come of you turning this down and remaining unemployed - that will put more stress and strain on your marriage than being a little distance apart for a little while.

Seriously - take the job. Otherwise, you will regret it for a long time to come.

MembersZone Subscriber