Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oxygen in POV

Forum Member

Default Oxygen in POV

I'am a first responder, and I most of the time respond straight to the scene because i live on the the other end of town from the station. Anyway, I have a tool box in the back of my truck. I have no knowledge of storing oxygen. Can i put a portable bottle of oxygen in my toolbox without it harming me or my truck?lol I live in Louisiana where in the summer it gets to 105 degrees. Please help.. Thanks !!

Forum Member

I would not. If for some reason that tank has a leak and someone walks by the buildup of oxygen in the toolbox could cause a explosion.
    Last edited by d_holder86; 05-12-2011 at 05:50 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by d_holder86 View Post
    I would not. If for some reason that tank has a leak and someone walks by the buildup of oxygen in the toolbox will cause a explosion.
    Uh, I don't think someone walking past the truck will make oxygen explode... That only happens in movies.

Carrying O2 in a POV is very common and is no more or less dangerous than carrying it in a department owned SUV or car or ambulance. Don't make it more complicated than it needs to be. Put it in a bag made for it just like we do on the apparatus to protect the tank from rolling around and it holds the masks and stuff too.

Putting it in the tool box will not be problem. It gets that hot in any other vehicle left out in the sun too. I used to have mine in a tool box for years.
    Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Forum Member

When you say First Responder, do you mean NREMT or State Certified Medical First Responder or do you mean it as in "I am a firefighter therefore I am one of the first to respond and commonly referred to as a "First Responder"."