Forum Member

Default Tactics for underground parking garages (or whatever you call them)

Hi guys,

I'm doing my thesis for my master about fighting fires in underground parking garages and thus I'm wondering about how you do this.

Hose size, gpm, self made ventilation (if possible), nozzle, 2 in 2 out, ...

Thanks in advance
    Theusje

MembersZone Subscriber

we have multiple underground garages in our city near my first due. i have never had to fight one there though. but here is the basic plan.

treat as a commercial fire, getting multiple comanies quickly. min of 3 engines, 3 trks, and 2 medic units.

location location location...tic's and good smoke reading and preplans. i would recon the fire to find best attack point and attempt to avoid being lower when attacking. this is due to modern vehicle using poly tanks for gas tanks.

this is a minimum of a 2 line fire. add a dedicate rit ("on deck" for those desert ff's)

ventilation will be difficult but not impossible, quite a few of our parking garages have 2 or more entrences. you need teams on to stay above (for can reports) the fire if the building is built on top of the garage.

the brit's have a video of car fires extending to multiple vehicles, be ready for that.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQZ_fv_NhAk
    Originally Posted by madden01
    "and everyone is encouraged to use Plain, Spelled Out English. I thought this was covered in NIMS training."

Forum Member

Any reported fires in our underground/above ground garage got a full first-alarm assignment. All of this was subject to change depending on the location/conditions, but here is what I remember:

-First in engine drops a supply line, connects into the standpipe.
    -Second engine drops a line and supplements the sprinkler system
    -First in engine crew advances 3" line with gated wye and highrise bag to the area of the fire.
    -Second in engine crew takes their highrise bag, connects into first due's 3".