Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Volunteer to Paid

I might be relocating, does anyone know if it's possible to go from a volunteer department to a pad dept? New York State. Thanks.

Sure, it happens all the time.

But VFD experience isn't a free pass in - you'll have to go through the same process as a complete noob with zero fire experience.
    Opinions my own. Standard disclaimers apply.

Everyone goes home. Safety begins with you.

A lot of the guys in my area have done that. To be honest with you, thats kinda my plan. Get trained, spend some time getting hands on experiance, and start appling to all the departments around. Of course, I'll still volly as I live less than 5 min away from the department I'm training with.

Forum Member

happens all the time, but usually the two aren't connected. That is, a person with aspirations to be a paid firefighter often volunteers prior to gaining employment or someone starts as a volunteer then decides to try and make a career of it. In a lot of situations, they could care less if you are a volunteer. You won't get an edge or preference in hiring.

Nope. Not allowed. Federal law prohibits anyone who has ever volunteered for a fire department, ambulance, boy scouts, or soup kitchen from working as a career firefighter. It is completely unacceptable for you to do this. Clearly you need therapy.

Even the burger-flippers at McDonald's probably have some McWackers.

Quote Originally Posted by nmfire View Post
    Nope. Not allowed. Federal law prohibits anyone who has ever volunteered for a fire department, ambulance, boy scouts, or soup kitchen from working as a career firefighter. It is completely unacceptable for you to do this. Clearly you need therapy.

You forgot girl scout or little league....
    Opinions my own. Standard disclaimers apply.

Everyone goes home. Safety begins with you.

OP, what did you expect the answer to be?