Forum Member

Default Security Clearance???

Hey just looking for some quick info from guys who are in the know..

I'm trying to gather information in reference to possibly going overseas, however, all the firefighting jobs require a security clearance.

I am a veteran, who has tried to obtain a security clearance in the past, however, I was denied and not sure why..

I can only speculate it was my less then favorable credit, or the fact that I didn't fill the packet out correctly(dotted Is and crossed Ts).

Just wondering if anyone can give me some insight as to what hills im going to have to climb to get this done..

thanks in advance..

Forum Member

I have a DOD clearance for my non firefighting job.

I don't know about bad credit, but if you have a lot of debt then you may be denied a clearance. This is because payment of your debts could be used as leverage to obtain information from you.

Criminal history, overseas contacts or any amount of time spent in "certain countries" will also keep you from getting a clearance.
    Last edited by KB1OEV; 05-25-2011 at 12:45 AM.

Forum Member

Thanks bro, I can deff. see how having alot of debt can screw you now.

Forum Member

credit problems,criminal record, even civil record like restraining orders etc...just to name a few.

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Let's define what clearance you need

Gentlemen,

As a firefighter in Iraq or Afghanistan you only need a NACI clearance, that's a national agency clearance with inquiries. This is easy to obtain. They will pull a credit report, criminal record, and check that your previous jobs are what you say they are for dates and title.

It allows you to have issues on financials. You can have foreclosures, outstanding debts, etc... You just have to show you are addressing them, paying on them, or have contact with them to start paying them. So they can still be issues, but it's easily accepted with this clearance.