Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default To all the firefighters out there

Hi all
    Just joined this forum specifically to ask some of these questions. I am a paramedic working for a private ambulance. I have been testing for departments out here, and have come up with some questions that I cant seem to answer myself
    1. Is it worth it to get a fire II cert or fire science degree on my own? Will that significantly improve my chances of getting hired?
    2. Is there anything else that you would recommend I do beyond having my paramedic licence (which I do) that would help me score higher on the list? I do pretty well on the written exams, but always get bunmped down below people with vet status, 4 year degree, and firefighting experience. I had one oral interview and didnt make the cut. The chief said that it was because I need to talk more on the interview.

And just some general questions that I wouldnt be able to answer untill I actually ride on a department (which nobody seems to want to let me to do)
    1. What do you like most about being a firefighter/paramedic? What dont you like?
    2. What functional skills do you use most?
    3. What personaly traits or talents would somebody need to enjoy being a firefighter?

Thanks in advance for all the answers.

Forum Member

Okay well first off I am not a career firefighter YET, but I might still be able to answer your questions. Where do you live and are you applying for large cities or smaller departments that will make a difference in what it takes to get hired. You almost never need a degree to get hired so out of the two I would say get your firefighter 1 and 2 done. as for the interview questions
    1 is your personal opinion
    2 again I couldn't answer that for you
    3 you would have to want to help and protect others.
    I would let some older career men answer that better though.

good luck!!!

55 Years & Still Rolling hwoods's Avatar