Thread: Engaging Pump

Forum Member

Default Engaging Pump

Good evening everyone,

This is most likely a really easy question for everyone, but for me im just learning , anyways I was wondering if you were operating a masterstream, is it possibleto engage pump while you are already hooked into a hydrant, intake open to allow water into pump, masterstream device valve open and flowing off of hydrant pressure?

Forum Member

Sitting here trying to think how you are operating a master stream without being in pump....
    "This thread is being closed as it is off-topic and not related to the fire industry." - Isn't that what the Off Duty forum was for?

MembersZone Subscriber

The problem of having water moving through the pump before trying to engage the transfer case and transmission frequently occurs when multiple engine relays are run, so this is not all that unusual. Problem occurs when the flow through the impellers causes the impeller to turn. Expect to grind slightly when the transfer case is shifted into gear. The shaft coming from the transmission will be stopped, because the transfer case is in the ROAD position and the wheels are not turning, therefore the shaft is not turning. If you continue to have difficulty in engaging the transfer case, try closing the intake valve for the time it takes you to return to the cab and place the pump in gear. The shift from neutral to direct (4th) will not cause any problems and in fact will be slightly easier on the transmission than doing it with the pump stopped.

Forum Member

Default Pump engagement

I am thinking he is in neutral and flowing from hydrant pressure.whatever kind of stream he can get from that.