Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Default Just reminiscing

I was just sitting here this morning thinking about how much has changed in just the time I have been a firefighter. The list is quite long and here are a few:

1) Rubber turn-out coats
    2) MSA melt away helmets (You know like Johnny and Roy wore)
    3) Fireball orange plastic gloves
    4) 3/4 boots replaced by bunker pants
    5) 1800 psi steel tank demand SCBA (well if you wore one)
    6) Booster hose to 1 1/2 inch to 1 3/4 inch hose lines, and if you are radical
    enough 2 inch hose (I guess booster lines are coming back with high
    pressure)
    7) Automatic and low pressure fixed gallonage nozzles
    8) LDH becoming commonplace
    9) No more riding the tailboard
    10) ICS and NIMS
    11) EMS
    12) Haz Mat

Just to name a few...
    Crazy, but that's how it goes
    Millions of people living as foes
    Maybe it's not too late
    To learn how to love, and forget how to hate

MembersZone Subscriber

Trying to make me feel old?

EMS in a caddy.
    Lung buster 02 valves.
    Black AMBU bags.
    Wheat foam
    58 watt federal sirens. (interceptor)

Forum Member

Caddy ambulances? how about the sheriff's department showing up with one deputy in a station wagon with a cot and O2. Loading a patient in the back, putting O2 on them, and then drive like a bat out of hell to the hospital and hope you were alive when you got there.
    Maybe it's not too late

Forum Member

haha Nothing wrong with the "old times". That's how you guys knew the job back then and that's what helped form the fire service into what it is today. You guys are veterans that's all. Congrats and thanks for making the fire service what it is today for the younger crowd.
    "If it was easy, someone else would of done it already." - Lt. Ray McCormack FDNY

- Firefighter 1 / HAZMAT Ops / EMT-B

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FyredUp View Post