Forum Member

Default Anyone know why....

Hillsborough County is hiring only Paramedics for this new position?
    http://www.jobaps.com/hill/sup/images/default.asp

I read somewhere else that it won't necessarily lead to a FireMedic position, that it was intended only for EMS duties.

Forum Member

unfortunately, hillsborough hires medic only still. they sign a 4 year contract before they can apply for a firemedic position. more details are in the hillsborough county thread in this forum.

makes good girls go bad

I am an HCFR Paramedic. If you want to ride Rescue and then work on a Volunteer Engine, doing nothing but EMS work, then feel free to apply. If you want to ever ride suppression apparatus as a Firefighter or FireMedic, then DO NOT APPLY!!
    This is will NOT ensure that you can even move over to the suppression side. You will sign a contract stating that you will no be able to move over until 3 years after you get standalone status, which takes a year just to be eligible for.

THIS POSITION IS FOR EMS ONLY. DO NOT APPLY IF YOU WANT TO BE A FIREMAN/FIREMEDIC.
    AJ, MICP, FireMedic
    Member, IACOJ.
    FTM-PTB-EGH-DTRT-RFB-KTF
    This message has been made longer, in part from a grant from the You Are a Freaking Moron Foundation.

Forum Member

Hey, I am looking for some insight on what they r looking for as far as the medic position is concerned. I am a 29 y/o female looking to get into a good dept. 2 years emt-b experience at a residential community in palm beach, BA degree in communications. Does any of this matter in the hiring process? I also want to know if you know how many positions there are. I still need to take my fire team test but have been contemplating whether to apply or not. I would appreciate any advice you may have.

makes good girls go bad

Quote Originally Posted by JThaDu4u09 View Post