Forum Member

Default Academy over education?

I wanted to finish my associates degree in RESP=therapy,But i am half way done completing my AA in Management,Also once I was done with that then go and try to do Resp-therapy.But that takes time and is a process.But here is the problem I am an EMT and I also wanted to do my Fire academy..I wanted advice should I complete fire academy first then just finish my schooling or.......should i complete my Management degree and pre req classes for resp-therapy course then,do the fire academy then try to get into a resp-therapy program somewhere?..I need a little friendly advice thanks...

Note:I am paying school as i go and can get aid but mainly paying as i go, and I want resp therapy job as main career/fire on the side. or vise versa depending on pay andso on...id like to do both as career wise.

Forum Member

What state are you in??

What is required to just apply fir departments in your area / state???

Forum Member

fl but iam looking to move to either texas/wa or another state,

dept req all 3 here ff/emt/medic

Forum Member

They, either one, might not take Florida's certifications!!! You better check before you take the leap!

Find out what states will take them.
    Stay Safe and Well Out There....

Always remembering 9-11-2001 and 343+ Brothers

Forum Member

Simple question ....

Are you looking to work primarily as a Resp Therapist or a Firefighter?

If you are looking to work as a Resp Therapist, finish your education, then locate where there is a VFD and volunteer, and let them train you to thier standards and/or state standards for free.

If you are looking to complete your Resp Therapist schooling and then go to work as a firefighter at a much lower wage, you are nuts and you should consult a mental health professional as soon as possible.