Thread: HIPAA Question

Forum Member

Question HIPAA Question

Here is the scenario...
    I am an EMT. I live outside my fire district. The other evening there was a roll over in front of my home. I raced out, began treatment of the patient until the ambulance arrived, who then transported. After the PT had left the scene, I took a photo of the car, (broad side), and posted it to Facebook. The Pres. of ambulance corps who i know, asked if I would take the photo off of Facebook due to HIPAA. I immediately did so, no questons. Note, I am not currently a member of the Ambulance who responded and the incident was outside my fire district.

It was my understanding, that any photo of a PT or vehicle license plate, DOES violate HIPAA. Does the photo I took, of just the car from the road, (no identification shown) also violate this rule?

I want to understand my limitations so that I do not make this mistake in the future, if in fact it was a mistake in the first place.

Forum Member

While it might not have been a Hippa Violation it might have been a department SOP violation, which would be reason enough to take it down. Or they where simply looking to nip a possible problem in the bud, Facebook is premier breeding grounds for lies, and false prophets, do your self a favor and never show any official department colors, photos, or anything that would show you in a emergency service role on that site.
    Courage, Being Scared to Death and Saddling Up anyways.

Forum Member

Great feedback BW. I think that is a safe approach and creed to follow in the future. There were no other objects other than the car in the photo.

Thanks!

Forum Member

Here is a little reading on the topic:
    http://davidkonig.com/2009/on-hipaa-and-photography/

Forum Member

My understanding is if your agency does not bill for services, HIPPA does not apply to you.
    But never a good idea to put up pics like that on the internet.
    Check your SOP's.

Forum Member