Forum Member

Default Out of state Firefighter getting hired in Fl?

Hey guys, been looking into making the move somewhere in south florida, and was wondering just how tough it would be to get hired. I'm hoping since I have 5 years experience on a very reputable fire department, paramedic, and a spanish cert, that it would give me a leg up on the competition, would this be fair to say, or do I still have a hard road ahead of making this happen. Any outlook on hiring in the next 2 years?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Aces11 View Post
    Hey guys, been looking into making the move somewhere in south florida, and was wondering just how tough it would be to get hired. I'm hoping since I have 5 years experience on a very reputable fire department, paramedic, and a spanish cert, that it would give me a leg up on the competition, would this be fair to say, or do I still have a hard road ahead of making this happen. Any outlook on hiring in the next 2 years?
    Experience & Spanish help for sure. The problem is that you have to get your Florida Firefighter Cert. You might be able to challenge the state test, some of these other guys might know the answer to that. I work for Miami Beach and we just opened the hiring process for 2011 but I think you missed the deadline. It is very competitive down here but just like anything else, if you want it bad enough you will succeed. Good luck bro. Oh yeah, your Medic license helps too, almost a prerequisite to get hired down here. =)

Forum Member

Hey thanks for the input, I really appreciate it. I've looked into challenging that, and didn't know how tough that is to do or not. I would love to hear from someone who has gone through that. How many people do you guys have take the test typically? And for how many spots? Like some fire departments, is it more of who you know than how you actually do on your test and interviews? Thanks beachfire!

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by beachfire View Post