Forum Member

Default SCBA kicks my ***

I am in very good physical shape and workout every day. However when I pack up for a house or building fire I get winded very fast. I also feel my heart pounding hard. It can be as simple as walking up stairs and breaking two windows and I feel like my hearts going to jump out of my chest. I heard that their is such a thing as sub conscious claustrophobia where your body doesnt think its getting enough air when breathing through an scba. Any of you guys encounter this?

MembersZone Subscriber

I can't really say this eloquently but you can't be in very good shape yet tiring so quick. You may be strong but your cardio sounds like ****. How are you during sprint work.
    ‎"I was always taught..." Four words impacting fire service education in the most negative of ways. -Bill Carey

Forum Member

I dont really do sprint work. I do crossfit circuits and distance running.

Forum Member

I should mention I started training with a 40 pound weight vest to simulate an SCBA and turnout coat and have no problem making it through my workouts. Its only when Im breathing SCBA air.

MembersZone Subscriber

Do tabata sprints and gauge recovery.
    ‎"I was always taught..." Four words impacting fire service education in the most negative of ways. -Bill Carey

Forum Member

How much time have you spent in a pack? The psychological effect of having to limit your air intake and control your breathing may be part of your difficulty. I haven't heard the term subconscious claustrophobia but it sounds like the same thing. I experienced something similar my first few times working with a pack. It went away after that though.

Forum Member