Forum Member

Default national registry?

Is the national registry test/status worth it in the scheme of things? as far as hiring or looking better then someone who doesn't have it?

Forum Member

It really depends on the state. Some states don't recognize it at all, some recognize it just enough to allow it for reciprocity to get that state's certification, and some states require it to even get a job. It never hurts to have, but how much it helps/doesn't help at all varies from state to state.

Forum Member

As a NR EMT, I would HIGHLY recommend to get your national registry. For one, it can't hurt you. It betters your chance of not having to repeat hours and hours and a class. IMO, it also looks better on paper as most generally, the NR exam is harder than the State. There are EMS agencies here that pay more if you have your NR over your State.

But it all depends on the scheme of things... if you don't ever plan to move, then it may not be worth it.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Iceman26 View Post
    It really depends on the state. Some states don't recognize it at all, some recognize it just enough to allow it for reciprocity to get that state's certification, and some states require it to even get a job. It never hurts to have, but how much it helps/doesn't help at all varies from state to state.
    Well said.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by BennyT373 View Post
    As a NR EMT, I would HIGHLY recommend to get your national registry. For one, it can't hurt you. It betters your chance of not having to repeat hours and hours and a class. IMO, it also looks better on paper as most generally, the NR exam is harder than the State. There are EMS agencies here that pay more if you have your NR over your State.

But it all depends on the scheme of things... if you don't ever plan to move, then it may not be worth it.