Like Tree9521Likes

Thread: FDNY Exam 2000

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by nightowl75 View Post
    Red cross doesnt give it. Go to the NYS DOH website. It should have a list of where all the CFR and EMT courses are being held. Also, no matter what level of EMT you are at you will have to get certified as a NYS CFR anyway. Im a paramedic and will have to get my CFR.
    Thanks for the info, I'm going to check out the NYS site. As of now I don't have any certs but it's worth looking in to seeing whether it's a lot cheaper to get the CFR-D on your own time vs paying for it in probie school.

Forum Member

So it looks like with as many people as are applying, the 5 extra points you get for residency in New York are going to be pretty tough to overcome for out of towners?
    Last edited by Dirty Axe; 08-01-2011 at 08:34 PM.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Axe View Post
    So it looks like with as many people as are applying, the 5 extra points you get for residency in New York are going to be pretty tough to overcome for out of towners?
    Dirty Axe I'm in the same boat- I moved to the city 6 months ago, figuring that would be more than enough time. Needless to say it wasn't...

All we can hope for is that this will lower the amount of people who lie about their residency and level the playing playing field for the people who don't want to cheat the system.

Remember, not everyone with the extra 5 points will score a 105 on the test- just make sure you shoot for 100 and nothing less.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Axe View Post
    this exam will be no different than the past exams regarding how well you need to score. Shoot for 100 & still expect to not be in the first class.

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by dkjets75 View Post
    Remember, not everyone with the extra 5 points will score a 105 on the test- just make sure you shoot for 100 and nothing less.