Thread: Helmets

Forum Member

Default Helmets

Hey guys,

I am a volunteer firefighter and I am looking at buying a fire helmet as I am starting to purchase my own set of gear. I have been doing some research but thought it would be best to get some opinions on what brand to go with, what style to go with, and either leather or composite. Thanks for all the help and input and be safe out there.

Forum Member

Everyone is going to have their own opinion on this. My personally I use the Cairns 1010 and I love it. Good fairly light helmet considering it's a traditional style and the price wasn't too bad.
    "If it was easy, someone else would of done it already." - Lt. Ray McCormack FDNY

- Firefighter 1 / HAZMAT Ops / EMT-B

Forum Member

Do a search here. It has been discussed many, many many times here. You will be able to find your info.

MembersZone Subscriber
    Not the end of the earth but I can see it from here...

Quote Originally Posted by csapp92 View Post
    Hey guys,

I am a volunteer firefighter and I am looking at buying a fire helmet as I am starting to purchase my own set of gear. I have been doing some research but thought it would be best to get some opinions on what brand to go with, what style to go with, and either leather or composite. Thanks for all the help and input and be safe out there.
    Why is your department not providing you with personal protective equipment, as the law requires?

As for choice of helmet, who really gives a hoot? Of course I'll probably start a flame war here, but they all do pretty much the same job, which is to keep stuff from hitting you in the head. Get what you can afford.
    Chief Dwayne LeBlanc
    Paincourtville Volunteer Fire Department
    Paincourtville, LA