Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by MIKEYLIKESIT View Post
    I am not sure about what the situation in Idaho is but heres mine. I am a principal officer in a small local. I can honestly say that when we fight for more staffing...which we are doing now, increased "revenue' is the last thing I am thinking about. I am thinking about the safety of the community and my fellow members. Nothing personal, but I am getting tired of hearing that same old tired refrain.
    Co-signed brother!
    IAFF

Forum Member

Originally Posted by ChiefKN
    Sounds like a revenue issue for the union.

More members=more dues.
    Ken...most of us have had to fght to maintain our staffing levels... it took us two years to convince the City Council that we needed to fill the three vacant positions we had... the hiring process ha just started, and the successful probies won't be able to come on shift until March of 2012.. and we have 4 more retirements coming. Its not new positions.. it is maintaining our present staffing level.
    ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
    Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Back In Black

Quote Originally Posted by MIKEYLIKESIT View Post
    I am not sure about what the situation in Idaho is but heres mine. I am a principal officer in a small local. I can honestly say that when we fight for more staffing...which we are doing now, increased "revenue' is the last thing I am thinking about. I am thinking about the safety of the community and my fellow members. Nothing personal, but I am getting tired of hearing that same old tired refrain.
    I believe you 100%.

That's why I asked if it was the actual members or the union leadership.