Forum Member

Default Good and cheap scanner for a firefighter in a rural area where reception is bad?

I'm a volunteer firefighter and EMT first responder. And the reception in my house is horrible. My pager gets nothing at all and I can barely hear my radio most of the time because of all the static.

I've got no idea what to shop for and what would work with my frequencies. I am a computer technician and I'm pretty smart with anything electronic, but when it comes to radios and scanners. I'm dumb.

I need a good scanner that will get good reception and that I can program to my county's frequencies. One of the frequencies I'll be using is 159.18000.

The max I can spend is $250 but I'd like to go under $200. As long as it works and will do the job, I don't care if it's cheap but it can't fail on me.

I had this one in mind: http://www.amazon.com/Uniden-BC350C-...2609100&sr=1-3

Are there any other suggestions?

Let's talk fire trucks!

What area are you in, and what agencies would you like to monitor? Depending on the type of radio system you're trying to monitor (digital, analog, trunked, etc), the scanner you might need could range from $100 to $500.

One of the best bets you can make is to visit RadioReference.com forums, then go to the state in which you live, and check with other folks in your area about what scanners they're using.

Also remember that 90% of a radio system is the antenna. You can have the nicest scanner ever made, but if it doesn't have a good antenna, you'll never hear anything.
    Career Fire Captain
    Volunteer Chief Officer

Never taking for granted that I'm privileged enough to have the greatest job in the world!

Back In Black

Get the cheapest scanner you can get and spend your money on a roof top antenna (a good one) with a superior cable.

Seriously, the scanner has little to do with your reception.