Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Default Hey guys, I need help

Hey everybody, I would really appreciate some guidance right now. Im 19 years old and I just put my application in to the FDNY last month. I've been a junior firefighter for my local department for the past 4 years, so I have some good training/experience. I have my EMT certification and a few of the certs that Ohio requires. But what I am worried about the FDNY's fitness test. Im not so worried about the computer based test, but the fitness has got my mind running in circles.

I'm not really a big workout guy, I worked out in high school alot because i was on the football team but I've never gone to work out for the sole purpose of working out. I'm not that big now anymore and my endurance and stamina is pretty bad (its hard for me to go running sometimes). But since I put my app in i've been working out everyday, but heres my question(s):

What is the complete fitness test for the FDNY? What is on it?
    How should I prepare for it?
    What's the best meal's to eat for work out prep and to help me gain muscle?

I know this is a long post, but I just wanted to know what was on the fitness test and any suggestions on how to prepare for it. thanks guys!

Forum Member

Forum Member

Our facility is on Long Island (AKC Fitness LI), and is rather unique, as I don't think there's another gym in the area offering anything close to the programs we run. My staff and I have over 40 years experience training firefighters on every level, from FDNY to volunteers, from CPAT to Academy Training, and this is really what we do. Not exactly one of many, rather one of a kind. We'll answer all your questions, let you practice on the events, and teach you how to prepare. My background as an FDNY captain, owner of a Firefighter-Fitness Center, and author of The Firefighter's Workout Book, has put in me in the perfect position to help you pass.