MembersZone Subscriber

Default To Leave Or Not To Leave?

I'm pretty sure the answer to my dilemma can only be answered by me, but I thought I would see what advice/input others had.

I have been a firefighter/paramedic with a prestigious South Florida department for 4 years now. I got hired later in life, (was 35 when hired). During my short career a I have built up my seniority to where I have over 125 of the close to 700 firefighters below me. I will be eligible for the LT. Test next year which I plan on taking if I'm still here!

Now for the negatives...... My department has had pay cuts totaling close to 45% in pay over the last 2 years, and there is a very good chance that we will take another 10-12% in October.

Because of these cuts and the projected future cuts, I have decided to entertain the idea of moving departments. Though I really don't want to start over or leave where I'm at, I have to provide for my wife and new baby girl. I only applied to two departments. One is here in South Florida. The pay increase would be around 25% right out of the academy. It looks as if the department is in a much better situation than my current department.
    I have also applied to a department on the West Coast near where I grew up and al, my family is located. The pay is also more out there, and now with a baby, the thought of being near family is huge!
    So what to do? I've made it through the masses on both departments and interviews are just around the corner. I'm scared to lose seniority in such a volatile work environment, but can't afford to continue to take these cuts. And let's face it....I'm no spring chicken! Though physically I can easily handle another academy, I need to start collecting some years to put towards my pension...(if there still is a pension).

Forum Member

1. stay where you are at and hope the us economy improves and wages start coming up in the next 2-3 years