Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Post Guidance: Becoming a Smokejumper/Hotshot

First off I want to thank whoever reads this and helps me out, I really appreciate it. I'm an eighteen year old boy in Southern California and I have goal of becoming either a smokejumper or hotshot crew member. I've been looking into any opportunity I can to help build my resume/experience but I've reached a fork in the road where I don't know which way to go. This summer I received my EMT-B in the state of California but besides that I have do not have any certs or experience on a crew. I was in an Explorer post but I'm leaving soon for my college so I can't continue it. I've tried to find local stations to volunteer at but at least in my area volunteering is almost nonexistent. Currently I'm also in dispute if I want to work in Oregon or California and because of the different certifications I have no clue what my next step for should be. I'm majoring in Forestry and minoring in Wildfire management and at college will be getting my wilderness first responder and first aid in the winter just to make sure I have them. Besides that the only available time for me to get experience or certifications will be in summer. I've looked at volunteering around my college but I'm waiting to get up there to see how I can manage school, sports, and philanthropy before I add on Fire.