Thread: Starting out

Forum Member

Default Starting out

Good day to all!

Just tossing this out there, it's late and my mind is wandering.

I'm 26 years of age, and I have beeen in a volunteer FD for about a year now. I had never entertained the idea of becoming a fireman before, in fact I don't have some enchanting story about wanting to be one since childhood. Currently, I am a 911 operator in the town where I volunteer. I have some college education, none in fire service.

I really have become consumed with the fire service, and really long to make it a career (and not sit in an office 24.7 as I do now). I have completed the basic courses, FF1, CPR-First Aid and I am about to enroll in FF2 and Hazmat Tech Basic and EMT when the new semester starts.

I live in upstate Ny, near Albany...and I am realizing that there is very little by means of hiring going on in the immediate area and I am considering taking the NYFD exam, as I meet the (initial) criteria. I feel this might be a better chance to get some experience with the tests, and with any luck maybe even get hired.

Don't know what I was looking to accomplish with this post, but I'm just wondering if anyone has a similar situation - and how you are going about it.

Thanks to all.
    " Amateurs practice until they get it right. Professionals practice until they can't get it wrong. "

Forum Member

What is "NYFD"??
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member