Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Big city or suburbs

Hey everyone, I have a bit of a dilema that i have been mulling over in my head for quite some time. I'm currently a full time firefighter/paramedic in the suburbs of a big city and love where I work. Place is great great guys busy but my real dream is to be on the big city where there is more action and more fires more calls more money ect ect. I have always wanted to be there but I always told myself that if I could not get on the city because my number never got drawn or it just wasn't in the cards or a suburban fire department called first I would take it. Well i already left one rural suburban department for my current job which is where I did all my ride time for emt and medic school. It was a great fit at first but then as time has gone on i keep thinking is this the best place for me, am I using all my skills that I have been taught because the department is not as busy as the city. I always said if i couldn't be on the city I would be happy where I'm at now. Well my number got called for the city i did the physical and all that stuff now I'm just waiting for the letter of employment. Basically I'm trying to figure out and get advice on what to do. Taking the job in the city means i have to live there in the city limits where I do not currently live and taking a big risk because if i quit my job and the city does not work out or i fail out of the academy which is not going to happen but nothing is for sure I'm up that creek without a paddle! I;m looking for some advice on what to do? I have gone over this in my head a million times and can't come to a decision and it's starting to affect my life in a bad way. Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Thanks everyone

Keep it safe

Forum Member

are you married and do you have children?