Forum Member

Default Another NFPA question

Hello all, this is my first post as a new forum member, so now time to jump to the typical first-timer, not using search box help me now type post haha.
    Please bear with me, I'm still very confused when it comes to this topic. I am a firefighter in NJ and completed my 150 hour FF1 training at Hunterdon County ESTC. I am attending school in upstate NY and am in the process of joining the VFD there. At my interview, I was told i would have to take the NY (National) 80 hour FF1 course, and that was the only way for me to be a FF in NY. Some personal research revealed this is not the case. NY requires that "Training, which is not already nationally certified, will require successful completion of the national certification testing offered by the Office of Fire Prevention and Control or other testing agency accredited by either the Pro Board or IFSAC." Because i am trained and qualified in NJ, i would just have to sign up for and pass the NY national written and practical (http://www.dhses.ny.gov/ofpc/documen...dards/exam.pdf )?Also, given that my NJ training seems more in-depth (150 hours) than NY training (80 hours) would it be safe to assume that I was taught everything on the national test (aka, how difficult should it be compared to the NJ state test?)?
    Lots of questions, i know and most of them are tough to answer. Thank you in advance to everyone.

http://www.dhses.ny.gov/ofpc/alerts-.../201104001.pdf

Forum Member

I'll jump in here -

Get together your certificates, and also the course syllabus if you can for the NJ certifictaions.....the person you probably need to speak to at OFPC is out of the office today - but he should be in tomorrow (trust me, I have an inside scoop!).....

I don't know off the top of my head if the NJ certs are already allowed - if not the info has to be reviewed.....

and if you send me a pm I can give you an email address to send an inquiry to.

Forum Member