Forum Member

Exclamation volunteer firefighter moving to u.s

hi guys. i just want to ask a quick question? because here in my country im a volunteer firefighter for almost 10 years now. and my dad who live in cali, wants to get us, and our papers is almost done. so the question is this.. what do i need to do to be a firefighter in cali or in the united states??

Forum Member

Default Firefighter Qualifications

Most states have some qualifications (Firefighter I, etc.) that you need to meet. Also each department may have its own requirements (FFI,II, EMT, Hazardous Materials Operations, Rescue, etc.).

Therefore, after you enter the US, check with whatever volunteer departments in the area that you will be living in. Ask for their qualifications. Also, check with the state training agency/association for your particular state that makes the requirements. They would know the requirements.

Since you are coming into the US, obtaining a drivers license for whatever state you reside in, should be your first priority. Without a drivers license, it would be hard for you to attend any needed training and responding to the fire hall/station for emergecnies.

Good luck in your endeavors.

55 Years & Still Rolling
    Glenn Dale Md, Heart of the P.G. County Fire Belt....

Post Hmmm.............

Right or wrong, Most States DO NOT have Minimum Training Requirements. In Maryland, we have an excellent Training system, but the State does not Require anyone to take this Training........
    Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
    In memory of
    Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
    Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006

IACOJ Budget Analyst

I Refuse to be a Spectator. If I come to the Game, I'm Playing.

www.gdvfd18.com

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by hwoods View Post