Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Decision Time

MembersZone Subscriber

Default Decision Time

So guys I find myself at another croosroad, therefor I am again asking for your advice. I have been working at my current Dept, for 10 months now. The department does not run EMS so I am not required to have EMT-B or P, because of this they will not work around a schedule repuired for my to get these courses. I landed this job with the mindset on still trying to get hired at the department that I have always wanted to work at. Which does run EMS and being a medic would help land the job. Now for my problem...I am in a position now finacially that I am considering leaving my department to go back to school full time and get Paramedic and a degree in fire science. What do you guys think? Is this a smart career move, or is this to risky? I am trying to decide in time to finish registration for the upcoming spring semester.

Forum Member

I would consider trying online classes for your degree. And as for the paramedic/EMT thing, in my area there are programs that offer classes only once a week. Maybe you can fix that in on your kelly day. Goodluck in your decision making process.

MembersZone Subscriber

For fire science I have considered online. The big problem lies in the fact that I don't have kellys, and I commut an hour to work plus it would be an additional hour the other way to school, which does not offer a 24/48 friendly schedule for classes. Therefore I am thinking just go fulltime, I can work on both degrees at the same time and knock it out in around 4-6 semesters depending on what transfers.

Forum Member

So 2 to 3. Years to finish all

If you can handle it financially sounds like you have decided already

Just do not know what hiring will be like in 2/3 years and on top of that maybe another 1to 2 years before you might get hired

If you did paramedic only how soon could you finish????

What state are you in???