tcd
    Forum Member

Question Need Advice: 41yrs old & becoming a firefighter.

Hi All,

As the thread's title says, I'm 41yrs old and want to become a firefighter. I have a bachelor's degree and currently work as an operations manager in the biotech industry. Although it's late in the game, I've come to realize that I desperately want to be doing something that has, shall we say, greater meaning. That's not to say that other professions, whatever they may be, aren't just as valid, but for me, what I do for a living simply benefits my employer's bottom line in return for a paycheck. I want more than that.

That said, I have a couple of options that I'd like to get feedback on.

At the very least I want to become a volunteer or part-time firefighter, but eventually I would love to transition that to a career full-time position. Either way, I gotta walk before I run, right? So here goes:

Plan A:

1. Complete EMT-B course at local community college.
    2. Sign up for a volunteer position that offers training. Some FD's in my area offer free training to become certified as an Intermediate Firefighter.
    3. Once FF training is complete begin taking EMT-P courses and/or continue FF training for additional certifications.
    4. Spend a year volunteering and continuing EMT & FF education.
    5. Begin testing and searching for a career position.

Plan B:

Plan B is essentially the same except I would sign up for a more accelerated FF training regime from a private firm such as trainingdivision.com. This would get me trained for multiple certs in a shorter period of time (around 3-4 months versus 6-10 months training at a local FD).

While I like the idea of getting my FF certs quicker, I also feel that training on-site with a local FD, over a longer period of time, might better prepare me than online study followed by 2wks of intensive hands-on work at the end.