Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: College degree

Forum Member

Question College degree

Hello! I am a college student that is perusing the fire service field to become a firefighter paramedic. I am currently in the process of attaining my Associates degree in fire science at my community college. I am also doing general ed classes to transfer to a four year university to get a bachelors degree. I am thinking about getting my bachelors in engineering so I can fall on that career path if the fire service does not work out for me. After completing my bachelors, I want to get my masters degree in fire protection engineering. I do ride alongs with my fire science teachers department and I enjoy every moment of it. I feel this job is right for me even though it has its ups and down.

I have a couple of questions...

-If I get a Associates degree in fire science and a bachelors degree in engineering, will it be harder for me to get into a department with a bachelors in engineering?

-Is a fire science degree strictly needed to get hired onto a department?

-What degrees do departments look for and prefer?

Thank you!
    Last edited by xiongk09; 11-18-2011 at 07:27 PM.

Once again.......

1. Use the search feature. This question is asked and answered multiple times a month, sometimes multiple times a week.

2. You need to check with the jurisdiction in which you are interested in applying at exactly what their prerequisites for employment are. Some places require college credits, some places require a degree in something fire-related, some places require absolutely NOTHING at all. They all differ. YOU contact where you want to apply and YOU ascertain what they want. Do NOT rely on the word of someone on the internet.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

Yes a FPE is a great degree

A little waste if you go into a fd , unless you use it on a side job