Forum Member

Default Promotion Question (a little lengthy!)

Greetings everyone!

My department, which is a smaller combination department(20 paid) will be have promotions within the next month or so. Being a small department with low turnover, this doesn't happen too often. I will be putting in for Lieutenant. My question to do with the initial application. The subject of my concern is my education. While I have a lot of experience and also certifications (some advanced), I also went back to school after starting the FD and got an associate's and bachelor's degree. What I view to be a sticky situation is that with the exception of our most senior captain (who is at retirement age and of course is not promoting), I am the only one who has a bachelor's degree in the department. Our chief doesn't even have one---not that there is anything wrong with that, it just adds to my confusion. I am trying to figure out the fine line of showing that I am proud of my accomplishments, yet not being arrogant about it. It is a tough thing considering this is a competition for a position...and another may not happen for a couple years.

One of the questions we have to answer for out application is to describe our most substantial achievement. Given the above, should I focus on writing about my degree as my achievement? I don't mean in a I have a degree and no one else does kind of way. Mainly in a "I'm always looking for ways to better myself and this is how I did" kind of way. Another brainstorming I had was to talk about my education, along with fire department milestones all coming around to the fact that it has all helped make be a better firefighter and someone that can be counted on.