Forum Member

Default Used Mobile Radio's

Okay I don't pretend to be an expert when it comes to Radio's. I know when I click the button on the mic, wait for a second and speak into it, the folks at our Dispatch facility can hear me (On a good day...if the TV isn't up to loud)

Where I have a problem is in my personal vehicle, I carry my portable radio with me (Motorola HT750) But it's just not powerful enough to reach the repeaters, so nobody can hear me. I want to install a Mobile in my truck so I can solve this problem. I've been digging through ebay, but I honestly don't know what I'm looking at. I know I need a VHF radio, and that at our station we use strictly Motorola Base, Mobile and portable radios so I'd like to stick with that if I can.

I'm poor...like most Volunteer Firefighters, so I've got a budget of around $250. I've looked at other radio's that aren't Motorola's, but since I've got no experience with them I have no idea if they will be any good. So folks, any suggestions? Helpful advice in general in regards to Mobile Radios, they're instillation, what not to do? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks folks.
    Opinions expressed by myself here are just that, mine. And not that of ANY organization or service I am affiliated with.

Back In Black

Quote Originally Posted by EngineCO38 View Post
    Okay I don't pretend to be an expert when it comes to Radio's. I know when I click the button on the mic, wait for a second and speak into it, the folks at our Dispatch facility can hear me (On a good day...if the TV isn't up to loud)