Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Forum Member

Default What do you guys with glasses/contacts do when you respond at night?

I always have contacts on during the day so it is not a problem, however they come off at night and i usually wear my glasses. What i usually do on less serious calls which require me to mask up is just wear my glasses under my mask. I always figured for structure fires i would just toss the glasses because i'm not going to be seeing to much in the first place and don't want a leaky mask. How do you guys approach this issue?

MembersZone Subscriber

Air Optix Night & Day are made to be worn for 30 days. I have been wearing contact lenses for 23 years and was never very good at remembering to take them out each night. I would go for a few weeks until they burned and I would finally remember. The current set of the previously mentioned contacts I have had in for about 75 days. Probably not the best and my doctor doesnt recommend it, but he says it is not as much of an issue as it used to be as these contacts can "breathe".

The other alternative is to get glasses brackets for inside your mask.

You shouldn't be wearing your regular eyeglasses under your mask -- the temple pieces compromise the seal and are not allowed under both OSHA regulations and SCBA manufacturers' recommendations.

The best solution is to try lenses that you can wear 24/7 but not everyone tolerates them. Otherwise, you need an alternative to allow you to legally wear corrective lenses inside your SCBA mask.

Eyeglass lens mounting kits are available from all of the major SCBA manufacturers to mount a set of corrective lenses inside your mask. The mounting kits and lenses must be supplied (i.e. paid for) by your employer (the FD) if you are in an OSHA state. (They may have to supply them in some non-OSHA states but that would be a state my state thing...)
    "Nemo Plus Voluptatis Quam Nos Habant"