Forum Member

Default CPAT for a smaller female

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I tried a search, but didn't find anything on this specific topic. Forgive me if this has been covered before.

I've just signed up for my first fire recruitment test. Woo hoo! However, I have the specific challenge of being a 5'4" female. I weigh about 150 (fairly lean) pounds. I work out 5-6 times per week, lifting weights and running, as well as a few other cardio activities, like running stairs with 60-70 pounds in my backpack to get ready for the step mill event. I'm strong for my size, with many of my lifts being well over my body weight, but I have a naturally slim build and smaller frame. I currently work in an ER, and when I stand next to the fire fighters that are bringing patients in, I usually feel pretty small.

I've watched Youtube videos and read the material on department web pages about the CPAT, but I have never done one or been physically present on a CPAT course to see it in real life. After my written test there will be a CPAT "orientation", but the test materials don't indicate what that actually entails.

Based on the description of the CPAT provided by the departments I'm testing for, I should be able to do well on the test. The only event I'm concerned about is the 165 lb dummy drag, since I've never done anything like this before, but considering I can row 200 pounds using just my upper body, I should in theory be able to drag 165 pounds a reasonable distance since I'll be able to use both my upper and lower body for that.

My CPAT will be May 5th. I may not be able to attend the practice CPAT happening in April, because it conflicts with my EMT course. I'm going to try to make it, but there is a good chance I won't be able to.