Thread: Fundraising

Forum Member

Default Fundraising

Hello, I'm a firefighter at a volunteer department in Northeast Pennsylvania. I have been actively involved for four years now. I feel as if our department has tried at every fundraiser. We just built an extension for our building to accompany our trucks, and we just signed a contract for KME Rescue Pumper for $754,000. Can you give some ideas of fundraisers? Unique, normal, it doesnt matter, just some ideas from around the country?

Forum Member

One fundraiser that we have conducted, is selling rural address signs. If you have an area, in your jurisdiction, that has rural residents or businesses, these signs can be placed out along the road/highway.

We purchased aluminum blanks and the adhesive numbers and assembled them ourselves, when an order was made. We delivered them to the purchaser.

If you have houses and businesses off the road, these signs along the road are a time saver, when trying to find the location for EMS calls.

While I do not know what your jurisdiction is like, this may be a fundraiser, as well as a means to get your community with better address signage.

In most jurisdictions, you can place these signs on the mailbox posts. As long as the sign does not block of the view of the mailbox "pickup" flag from either direction the sign can be placed there. Check with your local Postmaster to be sure.

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

My #1 POC FD does 2 kinds of fund raisers every year.

We run a Saturday Brat Fries along the main highway through town. We usually do at least 2 of these a year. We cooks brats, hot dogs and sometimes brugers on the grill, sell them with chips and soda. Minimum amount of work, minimum amount of time, usually about 4 hours, and on a good day we can make around $500.