Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By LaFireEducator

Thread: How do you secure a R.I.T line

Forum Member

Default How do you secure a R.I.T line

I know this may be a silly question but I am curious how you secure a RIT line outside a building and if you read on I will explain why.

I work as a Fire Officer in the UK and we use Breathing Apparatus Guidelines to help us search complicated buildings. The line is tied off outside and also should be secured at appropriate points inside the building. The problem is that most modern buildngs do not have tie-off points so the line cannot be used properly.
    The problem could be worse as fire crews should have already carried out a familiarisation visit to the building and should note that you may need guidelines. This is then marked on our Operational risk assessment for the premises.
    So if there is a fire in the building, the crews can look at the risk ssessment and plans and know that guidelines may be required.
    The point is that we don't ensure there are the proper tie off points to use the guidelines properly.
    In relation to Health and Safety regulations it could be said that there has not been a suitable and sufficient Risk Assessment caried out by the fire crews in case of fire.

So I am curious as to how you secure your RIT lines off in the USA.
    You also may know the buildings you may have to use them in and also may have done famiiarisation visits to the buildings.
    If you know the risk previously, do you highlight it to the building owner?

I am currently trying out the following in my Area and would like your opinion on the suggestion.
    We have devised a plate that is fixed outside the building that we may have to use guidelines in. it is about six inches by four inches and is fitted outside the main door of the building.