Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Advice/Question for my future

Background
    So I am currently working on my Fire Science AA, and in the mean time I have a Federal Wildland firefighter job lined up just for the summer. I will complete the EMT-B course and a fire academy once my degree is finished because I might as well get the education out of the way first.

I plan to apply for a seasonal spot with CalFire once my degree and EMT nationally registered are finished. I will also have had several seasons of Fed fire experience to put on the CalFire app.
    (I will be enrolling in an accredited Fire academy at some point)

I have not decided if I want to take the paramedic program after all of this, it is a large commitment, but I know it is a sought after credential by most large city departments hiring.

Question
    Is a CalFire seasonal spot in the right direction for potentially getting into a full time permanent spot firefighting spot? I would not mind working as a full timer within CalFire one day...

What do other City/Municipal Fire departments think of seasonal CalFire Fire experience?

Any captains/chiefs/divisions chiefs or firefighters with thought on this would be greatly appreciated.

Anyone work as a seasonal with CalFire before they got perm status with a department?

My goal ultimate goal is have a full time firefighter career with a medium to large sized city department OR a full time position within CalFire.

Thanks
    Last edited by StrengthBuilder; 03-27-2012 at 02:09 AM.

Forum Member

if you read throught the posts, it seems calif cities are hard to get on to, and calif state, if you have not been following poitics is hurting for money.

suggest you start applying for any city as soon as possible, and look at the possibilty of working in another state.

I know calif, is a great place to live, little crowded, lots of competition

Forum Member