Forum Member

Default Relay pumping drills

I know this should be in the "training" section, but I figured most of the engineers and operators were down here. I am a driver trainer in a rural department looking to hold a mutual aid relay pumping drill. We generally run tanker shuttles in our area so we don't have much experience with them. I would appreciate any advice you guys may have for me. Also, any links to drill outlines that you'd be willing to share would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by 3260e View Post
    I know this should be in the "training" section, but I figured most of the engineers and operators were down here. I am a driver trainer in a rural department looking to hold a mutual aid relay pumping drill. We generally run tanker shuttles in our area so we don't have much experience with them. I would appreciate any advice you guys may have for me. Also, any links to drill outlines that you'd be willing to share would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!!
    I will see if I can scratch up a copy of the SOP's for the Montgomery County (Pa.) LDH Task Force- who's basic job and standard is to deliver minimum of 1000GPM up to and including one mile from the source.
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Forum Member

The most basic rule is: Get the water moving, keep it moving! Meaning, if for some reason an engine in the relay has to shut down, you don't shut down the whole relay. Getting a relay up and running it time consuming enough.

The engine behind the one that had to shut down diverts its water out onto the ground if need be.