Forum Member

Default A little advice needed for life changing decisions..

Hi all im kinda new to this but I thought id give it a try and get some advice from those of you who have been through it all and have a little experience on you. Well I am planning to apply and test for a department in Texas and I currently reside in Arizona, the problem is that the job requirements for that dept. state that I could not have a Class A misdemeanor including deferred adjudication, which I do have. I gave them a call to see if it would be ok to test and continue with the process and they said that I could "gamble" on it. Now im not sure if I should spend the money on flights (about 3) back and forth, to go through the process, if I probably wont even pass the background check. So from an experienced person speaking could I have your opinion on it??

Also just know, I am certified with IFSAC seals for FF1/2, and Hazmat Operator/Awareness, I also have 7 years of FD Explorer experience, I have some college credits in Fire Science including a fire technology academy, and certified as EMT-B. This is my dream job and I wont ever give up on it but Im not exactly sure what I should do at this time, especially with a baby on the way and a family to support. Thank You

Forum Member

What was the misdemeanor charge?

"Nothing counts 'til you have the badge . . . Nothing!"

Fire "Captain Bob"

www.eatstress.com

Forum Member

It was for Criminal Trespassing, which sounds way worse than it actually is...we were doing a little "ghost hunting" in an abandoned house. It was disposed because of the deferred adjudication.

Forum Member

I think you answered your own question. If the job posting states that a class A misdemeanor is an automatic disqualifier, then you have your answer. Just curious, but is it Austin you're looking at?

Forum Member

I think it is Arlington, either way you are competing against so many people that do not have a classA