Forum Member

Default Reserve Firefighter

I am looking for information on getting into the reserves as a firefighter. I am currently a career firefighter/emt in New York State with ProBoard certs in FFI/FFII and HMFRO (as well as many other NYS certs). Two of the main questions I have are is it possible to be exempt from any/all of the tech school with the certifications I have now and what are the requirements of my civilian department for holding my position for me? In other words, does my current civilian department have to keep my position open for me when I leave for basic/tech school and other training? I would like to join the reserves to serve my country and experience what the military has to offer, but I also want to make sure my current FD will not/can not terminate me or fill my position with someone else, leaving me without a job on the civilian side when I return. Also, any other information or stories of anyone who has done what I am looking to do would be greatly appreciated. I am leaning towards National guard or Army but I am open to suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Forum Member

JDK,

1. All military firefighters, active/reserve/national guard, attend the USAF firefighting school at Goodfellow AFB in TX. The way the course is divided, they MAY allow you to test out of the FF 1&2 if you have IFSAC/NPQ certs. They don't have to. If they allow you to challenge those tests it will cut your school time by about 50%-you will still have CPR/first aid, hazmat ops, and ARFF.