Forum Member

Default Denver Metro Departments

Evening,

My wife and I are considering moving to Colorado (I finally got my wife on board). I'm currently a full-time firefighter in the KC Metro. I'm also one test away from being a licensed paramedic. I'd like to work for a department in the Denver Metro, but would like some insight on the departments. I want to work for a department with 5+ stations and one with plenty of developmental opportunities. The two that peak my interest at this time are Denver and Colorado Springs, however, I noticed that Boulder, Lafayette, Littleton, Longmont, North Metro, Thornton, and Westminster all have 5+ stations as well. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Also, what are the odds of getting a job out there as a medic? I know having your medic license is considered your golden ticket in the KC Metro.

Thanks

Forum Member

Have you also looked into the Colorado Springs area?

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by FF8116 View Post
    I'd like to work for a department in the Denver Metro, but would like some insight on the departments. I want to work for a department with 5+ stations and one with plenty of developmental opportunities. The two that peak my interest at this time are Denver and Colorado Springs, however, I noticed that Boulder, Lafayette, Littleton, Longmont, North Metro, Thornton, and Westminster all have 5+ stations as well. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Also, what are the odds of getting a job out there as a medic? I know having your medic license is considered your golden ticket in the KC Metro.

Thanks
    Having your medic license would help for sure, but it's not always the golden ticket like other places around the states. Let me see if I can help though.