Forum Member

Default Congressional letter of support worth it's weight in... (you complete the sentence)

Go ahead and complete the sentence....

But seriously, I stopped by the station this afternoon and on the mail pile was a "canned" letter from our congressperson urging us to apply for the upcoming 2012 AFG grants. It also stated that their office would be willing to write a letter of support for us. I am fairly new to these grants, but it seems that with all the computer scoring and peer review, a congressional letter of support wouldn't help with FEMA's AFG/SAFER/FP&S grants. Am I wrong here or should we be contacting our congressperson and/or senator?

~Skojo

Forum Member

A letter of support from your congress critter won't be seen by the computer or the peer reviewers, But at least yours seems to understand the need for the funding to be continued.

We do ask ours for a letter of support as a way of letting them , [AND their important staffers] know we really need this program to continue to be funded in the future. It also helps develop a relationship with the staffers that really make things happen behind the scenes.
    Get to know their chief of staff and local office managers. they control access to the senator/congressperson.
    Reminding them of the budget battles we are fighting along with the real risks is always a good thing.

MembersZone Subscriber