Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    MembersZone Subscriber

Default Dyncorp/Afghanistan Fire Inspector postions

Can anyone fill me in on the Afghanistan Fire Inspector positions Dyncorp hiring for? I'm taking my hazardous materials awareness test this coming Monday, that's the only cert I was lacking. How are the living and working conditions? Hours? Any info will be appreciated? At one time they claimed to have needed 100 fire inspectors. The majority of the O/S Firefighting jobs are all geared towards operations FF's, LT's, Capt's and Chief Officers. My thoughts are, to get that many Inspectors they will have no choice but to hit up the civilian FD "markets". I started out 30+ years ago at age 19 as a USAF FF, after that I worked as a FF/EMT in the Marshall Islands on Roi-Namur. I recently retired as a FF/ Fire Inspector after a 23+ year career with a stateside dept. Some will say I'm flat out STUPID for wanting to go to AFG but if you think the job market for regular jobs is bad, try finding a Fire Inspector position. The closes ones are 8 hour drives away. Oh thanks for the info and help!

MembersZone Subscriber fallujahff's Avatar

Dyn Inspectors make about 115K plus 3250 (call it 120) for R&R's and you are paid on a 28 day cycle. With that said, it's Afcrapistan so you WILL live in a tent with lots of other people, you will share showers, you will be in tight quarters, you will deal with highly variable weather, meals and enemy activity. PX's are don't always have enough and you will be having stuff sent from home.

Not stupid to go overseas, just realize it is a short term thing. Maybe 2-3 years. Pay your bills, come home.
    "When you are safe at home, you wish you were having an adventure-when you're having an adventure, you wish you were safe at home"

--Thornton Wilder

MembersZone Subscriber