Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 18 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Like Tree29Likes

Thread: Why are you voting for whoever for President?

MembersZone Subscriber

Quote Originally Posted by scfire86 View Post
    The private sector played a part after the federal government started spending.
    Not true. Federal spending increased at a slower pace than in the Carter administration the first four years of Reagan's term, yet the growth rate had increased to 8% and stayed near that mark for a year and around 4% the second term. Growth, not higher or lower taxes, is the key to recovery and a good economy.

And I didn't say that. I did say that he handed off balanced budgets and a budget surplus. He did not have to borrow the last two years of his administration.
    Agreed

Would like to see that plan analyzed by someone other than an individual on an obscure message board.
    C'mon, on the side I am a Nobel winning economist.

Those were the main revenue points of President Obama's National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform. It received bipartisan support, yet President Obama didnt do anything with it.

What you describe is happening now. CA is a donor state to the federal government. Why should taxes generated in CA go to an oil company in the form of subsidies? There are lots of thing the feds do that I don't support. But I pay my taxes knowing the alternative (that I've seen in many foreign countries) could be much worse.
    I agree. We should not be subsidizing any company. I know Romney is for that. I also agree that there will always be things we disagree with in our government and it is our responsibility to pay taxes and try to change the government peacefully through the election process. We are fortunate to be able to state our grievances with the government and not worry about whether our life is in danger like in some other countries.

I was glad to see the IAFF has endorsed the President.