Why register? ...To Enhance Your Experience
+ Reply to Thread
    Forum Member

Default Feedback on graduate programs

Colleagues:

I am looking for feedback from any of you who have or are currently attending any grad school and working or aspiring for a career in the fire service. So far I have received great feedback from the University of Southern California and their public administration program (MPA). Oklahoma State University to my knowledge has an excellent program that mixes research in the fire service and public administration.

If anyone could provide experiences with Grand Canyon University, University of Oklahoma (MPA), CalState Long Beach, or any other, I would be enormously appreciated.

MembersZone Subscriber

Greetings,
    I completed a Masters in Public Policy from Cal State Long Beach. It was through the Center for Public Policy. I highly recommend the program. Whichever program you choose, I would recommend a known college. I believe a degree from a prominent school holds more value than one from a lesser name school. PM me if you have any questions.

Paul Lepore
    Division Chief
    Aspiringfireofficers.com
    Paul Lepore
    Battalion Chief
    www.aspiringfirefighters.com

Forum Member

I'm in the process of deciding which school to go with for an online MPA as well. So far I'm down to Anna Maria College and Troy University. There are many great sounding programs out there, but most seem out of my price range for out of pocket expense.... Still looking though if anyone knows any other reasonable options. CalState's program looked cool, so I emailed them, and apparently there are live meetings on campus for parts of the program, so that won't work. Arkansas State's program looked really good, except they have restrictions on students from certain states being able to apply, so as of now, they're out.

edit 8/17 - Now I've added Marist College to the list... anyone??
    Last edited by 53fireman; 08-17-2012 at 04:58 PM.