Thread: Grants question

Forum Member

Default Grants question

Hello there. As you can see i'm new here, and i'm new to the world of fighting fires. I joined a small rural volunteer department in Northern MN last january. My question is in regards to grants for Turnout gear and how they go about awarding them (if its even possible to narrow down the criteria.

Let me preface this by saying I have no involvement in us applying for a grant, its just more of a mere curiosity than anything.

I'll give you a little background, as much as I know at least.

We recently received a grant for a new tanker truck, which we have just placed an order for from Fouts Bro's, and should have it in our possession by mid september (so they say as of now). I'm not sure exactly when that grant was awarded, but i'm guessing sometime in 2011 as they were talking about it back in january when I started. We also submitted a grant for turnout gear last year, which we had just been rejected for as of about a month or so ago.

My main question is, does the more times you apply and get denied help your chances in the coming years? or does it more depend on the quantity/need of the department as a whole?

I fully understand that the new guy gets whatever is laying around that will somewhat fit, but i'm excited and hopeful we get this grant. my bunker pants don't close all the way, but luckily my coat covers it up for now. Being i'm a rookie i don't see myself going interior attack anytime soon, however if the situation arises i would be somewhat nervious going inside with some bunker pants that could flap open with a wrong twist or turn of my body.

but either way it is what it is and i'm just glad to have something. so far the first 6months have been quite a time. I thuroughly enjoy it.

thanks in advance for any advice that can be given to a rookie

Forum Member

Quote Originally Posted by Daped01 View Post