Forum Member

Default Wildland firefighting near Long Island/ NY area

Hello everybody I am knew to this site and hoping you could help me out. I live on Long Island and I have been a volunteer firefighter for the past 4 years and have my Emt certification. I am pretty new to wildland firefighting and have no experience with it because here on Long Island it's pretty much all structural firefighting with a few brush fires. I understand were in fire season now so I will have to wait until January to start applying. I read up on a few things such as obtaining your red card, work capacity test, and what classes to take S-190 S-130 before applying for a federal job. My question is if I live on Long Island is it possible for me to be a wildland firefighter or not? would I be able to drive to another town in upstate NY or state such as Connecticut and they would ship me out to a wildfire say in Idaho, Colorado etc? or would I have to live close by a state where wildfires happen more often. Also once hired do they put you through an academy of some sort or would it be my job to find training and a place to take the work capacity test. I am a little confused about the whole process its a little different then testing for a city department. Thanks

Forum Member

Living in Long Island actually isn't a bad place to be for wildfire, depending on how close you are to Brookhaven National Laboratory. They have a wildfire academy in October every year (http://www.dec.ny.gov/education/22146.html) where you can take your S-130/S-190. I have never been to the New York academy but I imagine there will also be a pack test and you will get your red card, the question becomes through what jurisdiction. From the website it looks like the department of environmental conservation, but I think a really good start would be to contact them.

Forum Member