Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By ATFDFF

Thread: Burn tower firefighters

Forum Member
    Rural Wisconsin, Retired from the burbs of Milwaukee

Default Burn tower firefighters

I am not sure if this should be here or in Tactics but here goes.

Last weekend I was an instructor in Monroe Wisconsin at the Annual SWNIFRA fire school. The class I helped instruct consisted of a Friday classroom session with the 2 lead instructors, and all day Saturday live fire training in 2 mobile homes we had. We had good fires, large enough to test the skills of those involved, but not crazy out of control fires either. We had experienced instructors leading crews into do fire attack, most with over 5 years experience in busy companies, and some like me with over 30 years experience.

The phenomenon that was repeated over and over was what I call "burn tower fire attack ops". See the fire, give it a little burst of water and shut the nozzle off. When the instructor would call for more water the same thing would occur, some times multiple times during an attack. Now let me say this we noticed this occurring last year and the lead instructors made a point of stating, in their classrom session, when we are making an attack on fire in the "real world" the nozzle stays on and in motion until the fire is knocked down. They were reminded of that by the lead instructors during the pre-burn briefing, and again by the instructors leading in the attack crews. Yet it still happened multiple times.